Our Leadership Council

St. John's Church Foundation is pleased to announce the election of eight distinguished community leaders as charter members to its newly formed Leadership Council. The Leadership Council, created in anticipation of the 250th anniversary of Patrick Henry's "Give me liberty" speech in 2025, will assist the Foundation's Board of Trustees and staff by providing objective advice from a variety of fields of expertise to help further the Foundation's vision and mission.

The Leadership Council is comprised of a premier group of individuals with expertise in a variety of fields including, business, financial, legal, fundraising, marketing, education, historic preservation, scholarship, tourism and history.

Charter members of the Leadership Council are as follows:

  • Dr. Edward L. Ayers, Tucker-Boatwright Professor of Humanities and President Emeritus, University of Richmond

  • John F. Berry (Jack), President & CEO, Richmond Region Tourism

  • Elizabeth D. Camp (Lee), community volunteer, retired chair of the history department, St. Christopher's School

  • David R. Grogan, community volunteer, member, Board of Trustees, Fort Ticonderoga

  • Dr. Lauranett L. Lee, visiting lecturer, Jepson School of Leadership Studies, University of Richmond

  • David Ruth, retired, Superintendent, National Park Service, Richmond Battlefield Park and Maggie L. Walker National Historic Site

  • H. B. Thomson (Tom), community volunteer, retired, Thompson, Siegel and Walmsley

  • E. Massie Valentine, Jr., former Trustee, St. John's Church Foundation

Jeff Gill, president of the Board of Trustees said, "We are excited and honored to have such an outstanding group of leaders join our Leadership Council as charter members. Their expertise and involvement will be invaluable in advancing our preservation work at Historic St. John's Church, a National Historic Landmark, and the educational programs we offer that tell the compelling and relevant story of this incredibly significant place."